Sunday, March 12, 2017

Infernal Parade by Clive Barker

I would like to thank Subterranean Press, Clive Barker, and Net Galley for the advanced reader copy of Infernal Parade! 

Tom Requiem is hanged for the murder of Mary Slaughter. Tom was buried alive on purpose because the fates have a new task for him. He becomes the leader of the Infernal Parade. The Infernal Parade is made up of characters that are pulled into the Infernal Parade to wander the world between life and death. Infernal Parade is a novella that is made up of six short stories-each story follows a character of the parade. The Infernal Parade includes Tom, his lover/victim Mary, Elijah, the golem, Dr. Fetter and his family of freaks, and the Sabbaticus. The stories focus on the six characters, but they are kind of intertwined.

I have read several Clive Barker books, and they never disappoint me. With that being said, this novella could have been better. I read the novella without knowing anything about it. After reading it, I found out that the stories were based on an action figure line in the early 2000s. What is more, I still enjoyed the novella even though I didn't know about the action figure line.

Clive Barker uses his creative writing style to draw the reader in, and it doesn't let you go until the last page. He crosses genre lines with ease throughout this novella. It is both equal parts horror and fantasy. Clive Barker changed the way horror short stories are written with the Books of Blood volumes, and he is showing no signs of slowing down at all.

I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes horror or Clive Barker's work!
4/5 stars!

No comments:

Post a Comment